New West Records Celebrates 15th Anniversary

LOS ANGELES, CA, August 22, 2013 – New West Records will celebrate its 15th anniversary with a nearly seven hour showcase at the Americana Music Awards Festival and Conference in Nashville on Friday, September 20 at The Cannery Ballroom from 7 pm-2 am. The one-night only concert will feature label cornerstones Delbert McClinton (with special guest Glen Clark) and Buddy Miller along with the newest faces of New West, The Devil Makes Three, Austin Lucas, the Ben Miller Band, Howe Gelb, Max Gomez and Daniel Romano. Staple artists Randall Bramblett and Corb Lund and some surprise guests will round out the night. AMA Fest will run from September 18-22.

“I am really excited about celebrating our 15th year in the music business with a stellar lineup of legendary and great new artists during the Americana Music Festival,” says president of New West Records, George Fontaine, Sr. “This is a family business in every aspect – from artists to staff – and it has been an honor and pleasure to see it grow into what it’s become. I cannot wait for the next 15 years to unfold.”

Since its inception, New West has had a strong relationship with the Americana Festival and felt it was fitting to have its anniversary celebration at an event that they love and that has been so supportive throughout the years. The label has garnered a bevy of awards in the fest’s short 11-year history and is home to Buddy Miller, the AMA’s bandleader and most decorated musician. Miller has won 12 awards including Artist of the Year (2011, 2009) and Instrumentalist of the Year (2011, 2010, 2008, 2007) as well as Album of the Year, which he won on his own in 2005 and again in 2009 with his wife Julie Miller. Other notable awards include Lifetime Achievement Awards for Songwriting for Richard Thompson and John Hiatt, Song of the Year for Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett’s “The Weary Kind (Theme From Crazy Heart),” Group of the Year for Drive-By Truckers and the Spirit of Americana Free Speech Award to Steve Earle.

New West’s nominees up for Americana Music Awards this year include Buddy Miller & Jim Lauderdale for Album of the Year and Duo/Group of the Year for their first-ever album together, Buddy & Jim, Artist of the Year for Buddy Miller and Richard Thompson whose song “Good Things Happen To Bad People” off his New West debut Electric is up for Song of the Year.
New West Records released Shaver’s Victory in July 1998 followed shortly thereafter by albums by Stephen Bruton and Jon Dee Graham. Founded by Cameron Strang, Strang then partnered with George Fontaine, Sr. in 2000. That year they experienced their first big success with Delbert McClinton’s Nothing Personal, which went on to sell more than 300k units and won the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Blues Album. It started a string of successful signings and releases from John Hiatt, Drive-By Truckers, The Flatlanders, Dwight Yoakam and Old 97s. In 2011, Strang departed and the Fontaine family became the sole proprietors.

Delbert McClinton & Glen Clark
Buddy Miller
Howe Gelb
The Devil Makes Three
Randall Bramblett
Corb Lund
Austin Lucas
Max Gomez
Ben Miller Band
Daniel Romano