A Love Extreme

Release Date: 
December 15, 2008
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. I Am You, You Are Me, We Are One
  2. Tight Tee Shirt
  3. You Stood Me Up
  4. Neighbor Down The Hall
  5. Waiting For An Invitation
  6. Cornfields
  7. Why Do These Parties Always End The Same Way?
  8. Where Do Old Lovers Go?
  9. Do You Think They Would Tell You?
  10. All You’ve Got To Do Is Fall In Love
  11. Mmmmmmm
  12. Even If
  13. Girl In The Tower
  14. Vibe So Hot
  15. So Well
  16. The Mummy
  17. Love Is A Razor
  18. I Went To Some Friends To See The Flaming Lips
  19. Coyotes
  20. Ladies On Parade
  21. Jubalee
  22. So Much Better
  23. Love On A Budget
  24. Lyegue
  25. Baby, It’s Your Life

Hidden behind flowing rusty hair and Shakespearean beard is Benji Hughes, a complex, and often funny, dreamer with a harmonious voice. The singer songwriter from North Carolina subtly infuses his music with flavors and colors, evoking the numerous feelings that love brings. From happiness to misery, Benji describes relationships with friends, women and life in general.

A highly original wordsmith, Benji can tap into the highs of love, find humor there, but also embrace the lows with melodic pieces that stir the soul. From the uplifting tracks So Well and All You Got To Do Is Fall In Love to the darker Even If and You Stood Me Up his lyrics tell a well crafted story regardless of the underlying mood.

A Love Extreme was recorded in Silverlake, CA in collaboration with Keefus Ciancia, a top LA session musician and producer who regularly works with the likes of T-Bone Burnett, Cassandra Wilson and Everlast. Also integral to the album was multi-instrumentalist Gus Seyffert (Inara George, Sia). Benji & Gus recorded several of the tracks including Waiting For An Invitation and All You ve Got To Do Is Fall In Love in Gus living room with the bulk of the album being recorded at Keefus Silverlake studio.