Three Easy Pieces

Release Date: 
July 10, 2007
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Bad Phone Call
  2. Three Easy Pieces
  3. You'll Never Catch Him
  4. Bottom of the Rain
  5. Lost Downtown
  6. Renovating
  7. Good Girl
  8. Pendleton
  9. Gravity
  10. Hearts of Palm
  11. September Shirt
  12. CC and Callas
  13. Thrown

Ever wonder what happened to Buffalo Tom, the seminal Boston trio whose early-'90s songs were splashed about alternative radio and MTV? They're back, and one spin of their first record since 1998's Smitten gives the impression that they never left and that a decade has gone by faster than a Tom Maginnis drumroll. The melodies still rumble with elegance. The choruses are instantly unforgettable. And the band's original members--Maginnis, Bill Janovitz (guitar/vocals), and Chris Colbourn (bass/vocals)--remain intact and chillingly in synch. While it might be apropos to say they have matured with age, as all three have seen 40 pass them by, the angst and innocence of these 13 songs could easily have come blasting out of 1992. Rockers "September Shirt," "Bottom of the Rain," and "Good Girl" surely entice, but it's the power-poppiness of "Renovating" and "CC and Callas" (both sung by the underrated Colbourn) that drift back to the band's staples like "Taillights Fade" and "Mineral." Add to that canon the radiant melody of "You'll Never Catch Him," where Janovitz's gravelly tenor complements a radiant hook that, together, recapture the brilliance of this essential American band. --Scott Holter