No Other Love

Release Date: 
June 18, 2002
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. What Can You Tell Me
  2. After The Rain
  3. I Bow Down And Pray To Every Woman I See
  4. Rum Primo Ren
  5. Storm Across The Sea
  6. No Other Love
  7. Elouise
  8. That's How Much I Nee Your Love
  9. Summertime Thing
  10. What Makes The Monkey Dance
  11. Old Friends

No Other Love is the sixth album in a solo career that began when California native Chuck Prophet split from Green on Red in 1990. Green on Red helped lead the way for the insurgent country of the 1990s, but on his own Prophet has grown far beyond the category. His previous album, 2000's The Hurting Business, was a striking breakthrough--hip-hop scratching and samples added to his bedrock country and R&B influences. No Other Love is maverick genre-bending in the manner of Beck and Jim White, and the stylistic variety suits Prophet's compositions, peopled by crazed desperados and beautiful losers. The songs run the gamut from the raunchy horn-driven swagger of "That's How Much I Need Your Love" to the stinging, pleading "Elouise," where his ever-inventive guitar vies with Farfisa organ. Prophet enjoys spicing songs with pop culture references, but his wry humor is counterbalanced by a strong moral undertow in "I Bow Down and Pray to Every Woman I See" and the beautiful "Summertime Thing." This is a Prophet with plenty of honor. --Gavin Martin