Live From Austin TX

Release Date: 
June 5, 2012
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 07/20/2001
  1. Cooksferry Queen
  2. Uninhabited Man
  3. Walkin The Long Miles Home
  4. Al Bowllys In Heaven
  5. Mingus Eyes
  6. Dry My Tears And Move On
  7. Easy There Steady Now
  8. Persuasion
  9. Bathsheba Smiles
  10. Mr. Rebound
  11. Ghosts In The Wind
  12. She Twists The Knife Again
  13. Shoot Out The Lights
  14. Crawl Back
  15. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning

It was especially gratifying on that warm July night in 2001 when Richard Thomson graced the Austin City Limits stage, as the eclectic yet elusive tunesmith from West London hardly ever makes it to Texas. Best of all, he brought along long-time bassist Danny Thompson and drummer Michael Jerome. Without dwelling on his excellent fret work (Rolling Stone ranks him in the top 20 of the world’s 100 greatest guitarists,) Thompson also has a unique way of writing contemporary songs that draw upon deep traditional genres, whether rock, folk or Celtic. This performance demonstrates his skill clearly.