Live From Austin TX

Son Volt
Release Date: 
May 17, 2005
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 06/18/1996
  1. Route
  2. Loose String
  3. Cemetery Savior
  4. Catching On
  5. Live Free
  6. Tear-Stained Eye
  7. True To Life
  8. Left A Slide
  9. Windfall
  10. Out Of The Picture
  11. Back Into Your World
  12. Ten Second News
  13. Picking Up The Signal
  14. Drown
  15. Too Early
  16. Chickamauga

This performance, recorded in 1996, was a milestone in the evolution of so-called “alternative country” music (sometimes referred to as Americana.) Jay Farrar, along with Jeff Tweedy, were founding members of the legendary band Uncle Tupelo. Following the band’s break-up, songwriter and guitarist Farrar forged ahead into new musical territory, putting together drummer Mike Heidorn and multi-talented brothers, guitarist Dave and bassist Jim Boquist, to create Son Volt.