Live From Austin TX

Release Date: 
May 30, 2006
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 09/07/1981
  1. Star-Crossed
  2. You Show Me Yours (And I'll Show You Mine)/Stranger
  3. Here Comes That Raibow Again
  4. Help Me Make It Through The Night
  5. Me And Bobby McGee
  6. Magdalene
  7. Nobody Loves Anybody Anymore
  8. Darby's Castle
  9. Casy's Last Ride
  10. The Pilgrim
  11. For The Good Times
  12. Loving Her Was Easier (Then Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
  13. Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down
  14. Silver Tongued Devil
  15. Smile At Me Again
  16. Why Me

Kris Kristofferson has an unusual resume. Brownsville, Texas-born, football star and Golden Gloves boxer in college, Rhodes scholar at Oxford, Army captain, and chopper pilot, studio janitor, part-time bartender, leading man opposite Barbara Streisand and Jane Fonda. But on his passport, under “occupation” it reads “songwriter.” And that, more than anything, sums up the essence of Kris Kristofferson. This performance from September 1981 captures Kris in his prime, and includes classics like “Me and Bobby McGee,” “Loving Her Was Easier,” “Why Me?,” and “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down.”