Working Man's Cafe

Release Date: 
February 19, 2008
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Vietnam Cowboys
  2. You’re Asking Me
  3. Working Man’s Café
  4. Morphine Song
  5. In A Moment
  6. Peace In Our Time
  7. No One Listen
  8. Imaginary Man
  9. One More Time
  10. The Voodoo Walk
  11. Hymn For A New Age
  12. Real World

Ray Davies is the legendary lead singer, chief songwriter, and rhythm guitarist in The Kinks, one of the most long-lived of the British Invasion rock groups of the 1960s. Davies writes and sings nearly all their songs with the occasional contribution from his brother, Dave, who plays lead guitar in the group. During the '90s, The Kinks gradually became inactive and Davies pursued other projects, starting with his semi-fictional 1995 memoir, X-Ray. In February 2008 Ray Davies released his second solo album, Working Man’s Café (New West Records / Ammal Records), follow up release to 2006’s Other People’s Lives. All 12 new songs were written by Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame member Davies, and co-produced by Grammy Award winning producer/engineer Ray Kennedy. Working Man’s Café has been incredibly well received by the press, including the Los Angeles Times saying “…the reflective songs are among his most intimate and touching.