The Sermon On Exposition Blvd.

Release Date: 
February 26, 2007
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Nobody Knows My Name
  2. Gethsemane
  3. Falling Up
  4. Lamp Of The Body
  5. It Hurts
  6. Where I Like It Best
  7. Tried To Be A Man
  8. Circle In The Sand
  9. Donkey Ride
  10. Seventh Day
  11. Elvis Cadillac
  12. Road To Emmaus
  13. I Was There

The Sermon on Exposition Blvd. by Rickie Lee Jones, her first for New West Records, is a beauty--soul-satisfying and sonically unique. Rickie Lee sounds completely tapped in, alive and vital, heading down some mighty interesting roads and discovering new magical essences. Lots of creative sparks here--plenty of them. She sounds like she's going through a transformation throughout the album in a way that's reminiscent of Van Morrison's performances on his classic album Astral Weeks. This CD contains an SACD version of the CD, with both a High Resolution Stereo and 5.1 Surround Mix. It includes a bonus DVD with 40 minutes of behind the scenes footage.