Counterfeit Blues

Release Date: 
July 1, 2014
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Counterfeiters' Blues
  2. Good Copenhagen
  3. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
  4. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
  5. Little Foothills Heaven
  6. Five Dollar Bill
  7. Buckin' Horse Rider
  8. Hurtin' Albertan
  9. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots
  10. Truck Got Stuck
  11. Roughest Neck Around
  12. Truth Comes Out

On very short notice, Americana and Canadian Roots artist Corb Lund was given the chance to record an album at the legendary Sun Studios in Memphis, TN. There were two challenges, it would be filmed for a CMT-TV special and he had two days to record. Taking advantage of Sun’s recording live-off-the-floor nature, Corb recorded Counterfeit Blues - an electric, raw and pure homage to the sound of Sun Studios.

Included with the deluxe version of Counterfeit Blues is Memphis Sun, the nearly hour long TV special featuring interviews and 11 performances. This edition features 3 bonus performances that did not make the TV special.