Break Your Mother's Heart

Release Date: 
February 11, 2003
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Poor, Poor LA
  2. Black Hearted Ways
  3. John Gilmartin
  4. Hanging Tree
  5. Lexington Jail
  6. Hummingbird
  7. Amor Azul
  8. Watching The Lightning
  9. Man That You Need
  10. True Ways

Produced by John Hanlon (Neil Young, Grandaddy, Beach Boys), Break Your Mother’s Heart has the warmth and feel of the past. Nearly all of the ten songs were cut in one or two takes, with Tim Playing guitar and singing live in the same room as the band. The CD features Tim on acoustic and electric guitars, harmonica, mandolin, keyboards and percussion. He was accompanied by a close-knit trio of skilled session players led by master drummer Jim Keltner (John Lennon, Randy Newman), bassist Hutch Hutchinson (Bonnie Raitt) and keyboardist Jai Winding (Jackson Browne). The well-traveled Athens, GA resident has made a name for himself on the road, having played with the likes of John Hiatt, Cowboy Junkies, The Flatlanders and The Jayhawks among others.

Break Your Mother’s Heart is firm testimony that Tim Easton is a unique and identifiable song stylist and this is a career record that ought to delight, provoke and engage all who listen.