Live From Austin TX

Merle Haggard
Release Date: 
February 21, 2006
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 10/30/1985
  1. Okie From Muskogee’s Comin’ Home
  2. There’s A Pair Of Blue Eyes Down In Texas
  3. Thank You For Keeping My House
  4. What Am I Gonna Do (With The Rest Of My Life)
  5. Mama Tried
  6. Misery
  7. Take Me Back To Tulsa
  8. I Knew The Moment I Lost You
  9. Silver Wings
  10. Misery And Gin
  11. Ida Red
  12. Place To Fall Apart
  13. I Wish Things Were Simple Again
  14. Amber Waves Of Grain
  15. I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink

Merle Haggard is so proud of his many appearances on Austin City Limits since 1978 that he once said “It’s like a scrapbook of 25 years of my music.” This performance, recorded on October 30, 1985, best captures the man and his music. It’s all here, from the classic “Mama Tried” to his poignant, newer songs, as well as his rousing tribute to the immortal King of Western Swing, Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys. He not only sings about life’s experiences, whether heartbreak or doing time at San Quentin, he’s been up and down that road and every other. Someone once called him the poet laureate of American music.