Live From Austin TX

Waylon Jennings
Release Date: 
February 21, 2006
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 04/01/1989
  1. I’m A Ramblin’ Man
  2. Rainy Day Woman
  3. America
  4. I May Be Used (But Baby I Ain’t Used Up)
  5. Amanda
  6. Me And Bobby McGee
  7. Trouble Man
  8. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
  9. Good Ol’ Boys (Theme From The Dukes Of Hazzard)
  10. You Asked Me To
  11. Couple More Years
  12. Bob Wills Is Still King
  13. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
  14. Suspicious Minds
  15. Honky Tonk Angeles
  16. Good Hearted Woman
  17. I’ve Always Been Crazy
  18. Luckenbach, Texas (Back To The Basics Of Love)
  19. I Ain’t Living Long Like This

Recorded on April 1, 1989 this performance by Waylon Jennings was no April Fools joke. This was the “new” Waylon, both personally and professionally. He had kicked a 20-year drug habit, split with RCA and signed a new deal with MCA Records. He discovered a passion for songwriting, teamed with legendary producer Jimmy Bowen, and produced some of the best work of his 30-year-plus career. This was Waylon’s second trip to the ACL stage, but the one that best captures the raw edge and driving urgency that pushed country music way past its Nashville boundaries starting in the mid-1970’s.