Live From Austin TX

Release Date: 
January 20, 2009
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 09/13/2006
  1. Convict Pool
  2. Across the Wire
  3. Cruel
  4. El Picador
  5. Sunken Waltz
  6. Not Even Stevie Nicks
  7. Stray
  8. All Systems Red
  9. Sonic Wind
  10. Alone Again Or
  11. Roka
  12. He Lays in the Reinsns
  13. Guero Canelo
  14. Letter to Bowie Knife
  15. Crystal Frontier

Musically Calexico is all over the map (they list as their influences Portuguese fado, 50’s jazz, gypsy music, 60’s surf and spaghetti western epics, among others). But when they made their debut on the Austin City Limits stage on September 13, 2006, their latest record, Garden Ruin, had taken them in new directions that even founding members Joey Burns and John Convertino might not have imagined when they first started recording over 10 years ago. After a decade of creating an eclectic sound that evokes images of sun-scorched rocks and windswept deserts, Calexico pulls a few surprises out of their musical bag to fill those dusty, empty landscapes with a big, big sound.