Live From Austin TX

Release Date: 
November 1, 2005
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 10/23/1988
  1. Guitars, Cadillacs
  2. Smoke Along The Track
  3. What I Don't Know
  4. Home Of The Blues
  5. 1,000 Miles
  6. Please, Please Baby
  7. Little Ways
  8. Hony Tonk Man
  9. Streets Of Bakersfield
  10. Buenas Noches From A Lonely Room (She Wore Red Dresses)
  11. Always Late With Your Kisses
  12. Little Sister
  13. I Sang Dixie
  14. This Drinking Will Kill Me

Recorded 10/23/1988. Twentysomething Dwight Yoakam was literally the new kid in country music when he stepped onto the Austin City Limits® stage. Early on he discovered the fabled “Bakersfield” sound and adopted it as his own, in the tradition of country legends Merle Haggard and Buck Owens. Buck, in fact, became his hero and friend. When Dwight was playing a fair in Bakersfield, he stopped by Buck’s office and coaxed him into playing a few songs with him onstage that night. The result was a lasting friendship and their historic duet, “Streets of Bakersfield.”