Live From Austin TX

Texas Tornados
Release Date: 
June 5, 2012
Live From Austin Texas
Release Type: 
Live Show
Release Notes: 
Originally Aired: 12/07/1989
  1. Soy De San Luis
  2. A Man Can Cry
  3. Que Paso
  4. Laredo Rose
  5. Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio
  6. Cancion Mixteca
  7. Dinero
  8. Mathilda
  9. Adios Mexico
  10. She Never Spoke Spanish To Me
  11. Only One
  12. Mendocino
  13. Wasted Days And Wasted Nights
  14. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  15. If Thats What You're Thinking
  16. Who Were You Thinkin Of
  17. Before The Next Teardrop Falls
  18. Shes About A Mover
  19. 96 Tears

Call it serendipity or genius, but when four legends of Texas music pooled their talents in December 1989, a new sound was born: the Texas Tornados. The band was new but its members were no strangers to center stage. Freddy Fender was a mega-star with his hits “Wasted Days and Wasted Nights” and “Before the Next Teardrop Falls.” Doug Sahm and Augie Meyers formed the The Sir Douglas Quintet in San Antonio in the mid- 60’s in a sound that shook up the pop charts with “She’s About a Mover.” Then there’s Flaco Jimenez, who, along with his father and brother used their accordions to invent their own music genre.