Rule The World

Release Date: 
January 22, 2013
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. Rule The World
  2. Run From You
  3. Ball And Chain
  4. Black And White
  5. Never Say Never
  6. What It Means
  7. True Blue
  8. Love Will Find A Way
  9. You Get Me High
  10. Cherry Red Wine

New West Records is proud to introduce Max Gomez. He got his start at age 15 performing in the local bars around his hometown of Taos, NM where he played originals and covered songs of his musical heroes including Robert Johnson, Big Bill Broonzy and John Prine. The son of an artisanal furniture craftsman, Gomez grew up watching his father, learning the tools of the trade while simultaneously learning his way around the frets of his guitar. The workmanlike quality of his songwriting carries over from his days spent in the woodshed through an economy of words, phrase and narrative.  


Produced by Jeff Trott (Sheryl Crow, Stevie Nicks) and mixed by Tchad Blake, Rule The World traverses varying themes of heartbreak, regret, young love, desperation and ultimately redemption.  While the LP's pop instincts are evident as heard on the album's first single "Run From You," Rule The World, is balanced by Gomez's love of roots music; see the blues-driven "Ball and Chain."